Quick Graphic Design Question

I’ve been searching around for an answer for this and can’t seem to find the right term.

What is it called when a font is made hollow as opposed to solid all the way through? Good example being Jacques Greene’s recent album artwork, which was done by Hassan Rahim:

As well as this from the recent RA feature on Skee Mask:

I’m sure it’ll be a really obvious, easily searchable term but I’m stumped. Thanks in advance.

Outlines, really. Certain typefaces have a workable outline version. Otherwise, just flatten it in illustrator, remove the fill and add a stroke.

Don’t really know what any of that means since I’m a total novice with this stuff but thanks for your help.

lol
basically grab the text you created, hit Command+Shift+O (or CTRL+Shift+O if you’re on Windows) and that’ll turn the text into workable flat vectors. Once you did that just remove the fill color and apply a stroke. And das it.

it’s been awhile since I’ve done this but I seem to remember doing these steps to get that outline effect for text…

1. use type tool to create your text
  2. group/flatten selection
  3. de-select fill color (white with red slash)
  4. adjust stroke to give you whatever thickness you want your outline

yes on photoshop add stroke and then underneath the opacity setting is ‘fill’, reduce the fill to 0 and only what is left should be the stroke :slight_smile:

Edit: just realized this whole post was unnecessary because you were talking about doing this in Illustrator, not Photoshop, but I’ll leave it here for posterity.

Doing this using the Stroke feature in Layer Styles can create soft corners where there would otherwise be hard corners on a font, which might not be what you want: