Logic X 10.5 Vs. Ableton (Is it worth it?)

I am an Ableton user who was thinking of getting the new updated Logic to have some different devices and a different workflow to mess around with when I get writers block producing in Ableton. However, I have never used Logic before and I wonder if I’d be wasting my time learning a new DAW that would essentially be giving me similar results as Ableton.

So my question is, for people who are familiar with both DAWs, is it worth it?

For reference I like using more glitchy, unpredictable devices in Ableton, usually M4L plugins. I also love the the sample slicing and using “randomness” (ie: the beat repeater and random arpeggiator functions).

I prefer working on Ableton, but the Audio Engine in Logic just sounds better. Renders and plug-ins just sound brighter or cleaner in My opinion.

It’s all about what you can use well enough to not have to think about anything technical while you’re working imo. The differences between Logic and Ableton aren’t significant enough to be worth spending a bunch of time getting used to it.

Also, Logic kind of sucks, it’s a mess of random functionality with no coherence and no coherent idea of music making in mind. I guess maybe that’s because it’s for recording more than creating. If you’re doing creative work (using a DAW as an instrument) Ableton is definitely the best. If you’re doing audio work, Pro Tools is the best.

Don’t believe the Logic hype, they just keep piling on exciting looking functionality for the marketing. Ableton is much better designed for music making.

Also, it’s true that the Logic audio engine sounds better @48khz and less but Ableton @ 96khz sounds great to me.