Any non-DJ producers wish they weren't competing with DJs?

Hi all, bit new here, just wanted to ask a question and see what people think, see if anyone has similar thoughts they want to share. I’ve been making tracks since 2011 and have had some records out a few times but I’ve never been very good at keeping up with scenes or music journalism beyond googling myself after releases to see what people are saying about them. Not much of a dance music follower either so some of the things I say might come across weird or naive, not sure. Also I’m Canadian

I moved to Toronto from a northern part of the province in 2013 and lived there until about a month ago. Was active in the electronic music scene there from around 2014 until about 2019, unless you count a couple covid streams with like 5 viewers

I played a small handful of shows a year, booked a few, and got popular among other local producers, DJs and randos who had heard my live sets. I went to lots of shows, got along well with mostly everyone and made some nice friends. But when it came to myself getting booked it was like I hardly existed, which made me a bit bitter and anxious. I’m pretty sure my music is not shit either, I mean I dunno, what can I even say. I guess I’m just trying to dodge a “what if your music is shit” comment. It’s never been huge, but among the people that check it out I hear and read good things