Vinyl Buying Strategies (for DJing)

Hey all…

Just wanted to share my little journey into the fascinating world of vinyl DJing. And today I wanted to focus on the buying aspect. Where I buy my vinyl and how I choose them.

When I first started, I just used discogs. I would pick a vinyl I like, check the cheapest most connivence place that had it, buy three more records and wait.

This works like anything else. The downside I discovered is that some places took forever to even ship. Some places had expensive shipping. It was just hard to predict.

Doing that, I discovered two places that I have had consistent good quality service with. HHV, needs no introduction. It’s one of the biggest records stores I guess. I’m no expert but that’s what it seems. Their service is top notch. Easily the fastest to ship and get back to you.

My second favorite is a small record shop in Italy called trenta3giri. The owner/seller is amazing to deal with. They ship fast and have a really good small collection that suits my needs, mainly house and minimal house type stuff.

That’s all nice and dandy, but then how do you pick which records? (Plz share your process if you wish)

Again, when I first started, I just picked a name that I knew, found few that sounded like it and called it a day.

Now, I’m more likely to go over the whole collection of records a shop has in a sub genre that interest me. See if any covers speak to me or if I recognize a label or an artist. Put everything I like in my shopping cart then comb through it.

I usually take out releases that I added too quickly and didn’t sound good on a second listen. Then I take out releases that are available on beatport or bandcamp. I do dj digitally so I would just buy them there. It gets tough when you’re down to a really good collection of say 50 records or so and can only buy 5-7.

Unless the records is truly amazing, I take out anything by artists/labels I already have. Then prioritize based on genre needs.