Let's Talk About DJing with Pedals/Drum Machines

It’s really interesting to me how at one point of the art form, DJs started adding FX and mixing in drum machines (like Richie Hawtin) . I feel if I saw that then I’d assume that that shit would take off and more people would do it. However, it is still a niche that few explore.

If you were curious about it you would have probably stumbled on DJTechTools videos explaining how to route drum machines and pedals as FX to be used in a set with Xone mixers.

I remember watching those videos long before I knew what DJing is but being blown away by the different sounds. Now I’m no expert, but I’m certainly more aware of the scene compared to how I was. And so far, I knew barely one or two DJs that use anything other than players/mixer combo.

I’ve read a number of articles here and there, watched many sets, and for some reason the addition of pedals is so rare.

I was wondering what could be the reason behind this. I’m sure that some DJs would rather just use built in FX that are available on a DJM. However, pedals are far richer in sound and in application. There are lots of crazy ass pedals that twist and twirl sounds beyond recognition and could be interesting to mix in. Let alone it would be uniquely yours.

I have been very interested in trying this myself. I’ve been eyeing few pedals here and there, but was wondering if anyone here has dabbled in this?

I know avalon emerson uses few interesting pedals, blue sky and some beatrepeat type delay and an isolator on the master out lol.

And to clarify, I’m not talking about live sets.

Got myselves a RANE Empath (with send/return) back in 2009 or something . . .
Have been trying to get some nice effects going, but had a lot of trouble finding both functional and good sounding units . . .
some of the better sounding solutions i’v found:

SpaceEcho

my newest and maybe best sounding box is